Writers Guild Of America Celebrates Screenwriting – Deadline

Update for latest… The 75th anniversary Writers Guild Awards will be presented tonight at two ceremonies on both coasts, and Deadline will announce the winners as they are announced. See the list below.

Sarah Polley followed up her USC Scripter Award win on Saturday by taking the adapted screenplay award for Women speak.

Winners on the TV side so far include Resignation for new series, Jerrod Carmichael: Rothaniel for Comedy/Variety Special, Correct for animation and Three busy Debras for Shortform.

Vying for Original Screenplay are the scripts for Everything everywhere at once, The Fabelman family, The menu, Nix and Warehouse. Up to custom script is Black Panther: Wakanda Forever, Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery, She said, Top Gun: Maverick and Women speak. See all the nominated authors and documentary nominees here and all the Oscar-nominated screenplays here.

RELATED: 2023 Awards Season Calendar – Oscars dates, guilds and more

Note that scripts to Banshees of Inisherin and Triangle of Triangles — both of which are up for original screenplay and best picture at the Oscars this month — are ineligible for consideration due to WGA rules, as are the Academy’s custom nominees Completely quiet on the west front and Live. Such exclusions occur each year because WGA-eligible pictures must be written under the guild’s minimum basic agreement or under a bona fide collective agreement between various international WGA affiliates.

See TV, new media, radio and other WGA nominees here.

WGA West will present honorary awards to Charlie Kaufman (Laurel Award for Screenwriting Achievement), screenwriter Rebecca Lenkiewicz (Paul Selvin Award) and Yvette Lee Bowser (Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award). WGA East will celebrate Spike Lee (Ian McLellan Hunter Award for Career Achievement).

This year’s WGA Awards come as the union and the industry prepare for a potential writers’ strike against the Alliance of Motion Pictures and Television Producers. The parties will begin negotiations on March 20, and their current three-year agreement expires on May 1.

Janelle James and Michelle Buteau host the respective Los Angeles and New York events, which honor outstanding writing in the film, television, new media, broadcast and digital news, radio/audio and advertising categories.

Here are the winners so far at the 2023 Writers Guild Awards:

Written by Chris Black, Andrew Colville, Kari Drake, Dan Erickson, Mark Friedman, Helen Leigh, Anna Moench, Amanda Overton; Apple TV+

Three busy Debras
Written by Sandy Honig, Mitra Jouhari, Sarah Sherman, Alyssa Stonoha, Diana Tay, Evan Waite; Swimming for adults

“Lies, Politics and Democracy” (Frontline)
Written by Michael Kirk & Mike Wiser; PBS

Written by Elijah Aron & Patrick Metcalf; Prime video

Jerrod Carmichael: Rothaniel
Written by Jerrod Carmichael; HBO/HBO Max

“Like a Lion Without Teeth” (crime show)
Written by Emma Courtland & Cat Schuknecht; Gimlet Media

Women Talking, screenplay by Sarah Polley, based on the book by Miriam Toews; Orion Pictures/MGM

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: